indevis Managed Detection and Response

indevis Managed Detection and Response

SIEM, SOC, SOAR as a Service: the indevis Cyber Defense Center

Detect and combat threats quickly – as Managed Service

Logo indevis Managed Detection and ResponseThe interaction of modern security tools such as SIEM and SOAR enables SOC security teams to detect and stop attacks and their vectors in real-time. Save yourself the complex and costly in-house operation of these solutions and, in times of a shortage of skilled workers, do not waste resources on the laborious search for the security employees you need. Thanks to Managed Detection and Response, you can also obtain the corresponding services as a service from indevis. With indevis Managed Detection and Response, the use of such advanced cyber security tools is also feasible and affordable for medium-sized companies.

Managed Detection and Response is the focus at indevis

To prevent damage from cyber attacks, it is important for companies to identify and remediate threats quickly. A SIEM (Security Incident and Event Management) is a mandatory requirement for thisbut is not enough on its own, because you also need specialized security analysts to evaluate the collected log information. But the shortage of skilled workers in the economy is particularly noticeable among IT staff.

In addition, it is no longer possible to manually evaluate the mass of security messages without automation. Therefore, the trend is towards Security Orchestration, Automation and Response (SOAR), ideally integrated into a managed service. In this way, SMEs can protect themselves just as well as large companies without operating their own SOC.

Schaubild indevis Managed Detection and Response

A SIEM can be a support in the fight against cyber threats, in order to detect malicious activities as quickly as possible and stop them before they can cause great damage. However, simply installing and configuring a SIEM is not enough. You also have to maintain it continuously, connect sources and readjust it again and again. Most of all, you need security analysts to track and evaluate the information provided by the system. Hardly any medium-sized company has enough specialists and expertise in-house for this purpose. As a result, the SIEM often only serves as a log storage after a short time. This is helpful in a forensic investigation, but is of little use in detecting and stopping a cyber attack.

A SIEM collects all log data from connected security systems, correlates them and searches for anomalies. If it detects unusual behavior, it issues an alert. The problem: The SIEM can identify anomalies, but does not recognize whether they are security-relevant. As a result, security employees are overwhelmed with alerts. The majority of these are false positives, which often have quite harmless causes – for example a software installation that changes file hashes or a backup that runs out of sequence.

In order to sort out such false positives and identify real threats, security teams need to examine the warning messages more closely. Because hardly anyone can do this in view of the flood of data, the alerts often simply accumulate in a mailbox and are only scanned briefly. However, this also means that critical information remains unnoticed.

SIEM, SOC and SOAR: Ultra-modern, essential – and extremely complex

In order to solve the problem of SIEM alerts flooding, larger companies have usually set up a SOC (Security Operations Center). Here, specialized security employees are busy evaluating the alerts from the SIEM. Are there any indications that a log event is dangerous? Has a similar alert been related to a security incident or is a snippet of code or a URL already known to be malicious? In search of answers, the Level 1 analysts search through the threat intelligence databases of the security vendors and have to call up the latest threat information anew each time they conduct research. If signs of a cyber threat are detected, the Level 2 analysts take over with more in-depth investigations. Together with the IT staff on site, they follow the traces and determine whether it is a real attack.

The investigation of the security messages is time-consuming and requires expert knowledge. Running a SOC is therefore quite expensive. In addition, manual analysis wastes valuable time during which a cyber attack can progress unhindered in an emergency. Modern SOCs therefore rely on a solution for Security Orchestration, Automation and Response (SOAR). This solution can considerably relieve employees and accelerate processes by automatically performing level 1 analyzes. A SOAR is able to process huge amounts of data in a few seconds and to check information with a wide variety of threat intelligence sources. It prepares the research results intelligently and clearly so that SOC employees quickly receive a complete picture of an attack vector.

AI and machine learning in SOAR enables more efficient security processes

The automation in the SOAR system takes place with the help of playbooks in which the workflows and logics are documented that the system processes. SOC employees can access a large number of ready-made playbooks for different incidents as well as define new ones and share them with others. The AI integrated in SOAR learns from incident, indicator and analyst data in order to obtain personalized insights, e.g. incident owner and frequently executed security commands. The machine learning functions of SOAR thus increase the productivity of users, accelerate the development of playbooks and enable leaner security processes. Over time, more and more know-how is accumulated and work in the SOC becomes more efficient. Ultimately, a SOAR can significantly reduce the number of alarms that employees still have to check and significantly accelerate the response to a security incident.

Benefits indevis Managed Detection and Response

  • Real-time attack detection
  • Cutting-edge protection technologies from market-leading vendors deployed
  • Outsourcing or use of expensive security tools & teams (SIEM, SOAR, SOC) as a cost-effective service
  • AI and machine learning in SOAR enable leaner and more efficient security processes
  • Full service by the indevis Cyber Defense Center according to the selected scope of services
  • Connection of various log sources
  • Use of best practices playbooks or development of playbooks tailored to your own requirements
  • Joint coordination of the possible response after the detection of real cyber threats
  • ISO27001 certified MSSP business unit

indevis MDR: Automatically outsmart attackers

The need for SIEM, SOC and SOAR is obvious in today's increasingly sophisticated cyberattacks. Their interaction makes it possible to detect and stop attacks and their vectors as quickly as possible. Save yourself the time-consuming and costly in-house operation of these solutions and, in times of skills shortages, do not waste any resources in the laborious search for the security staff you need. Thanks to Managed Detection and Response, you can obtain the relevant services as a service from indevis. With indevis Managed Detection and Response, no valuable time is lost in hunting down and responding to threats.

indevis Managed Detection and Response

If you, too, see a need for action in the area of MDR for your company, please call your sales representative: Get in contact with us! +49 (89) 45 24 24-100.

Contact

indevis IT-Consulting
and Solutions GmbH

Irschenhauser Str. 10
81379 Munich

Phone:
+49 (89) 45 24 24-100

Fax:
+49 (89) 45 24 24-199

Or via our contact form.

You can reach us from Monday to Friday from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm.

indevis Managed Detection and Response

indevis Managed Detection and Response

SIEM, SOC, SOAR als Service: das indevis Cyber Defense Center

Bedrohungen schnell erkennen und begegnen – als Managed Service

Logo indevis Managed Detection and ResponseDas Zusammenwirken moderner Security-Tools wie SIEM und SOAR als Unterstützung für ein SOC ermöglicht es, Angriffe und deren Vektoren in Echtzeit aufzudecken und zu stoppen. Sparen Sie sich den komplexen und kostenintensiven Eigenbetrieb dieser Lösungen und vergeuden Sie in Zeiten von Fachkräftemangel keine Ressourcen für die mühselige Suche nach den benötigten Security-Mitarbeitern. Dank Managed Detection and Response können Sie die entsprechenden Leistungen auch als Service von indevis beziehen. Mit indevis Managed Detection and Response wird der Einsatz solch fortschrittlicher Cyber Security Tools auch für mittelständische Unternehmen machbar und erschwinglich.

Managed Detection and Response im Fokus bei indevis

Um Schaden durch Cyberangriffe zu vermeiden, ist es für Unternehmen wichtig, Bedrohungen schnell zu ermitteln und zu beseitigen. Ein SIEM (Security Incident and Event Management) ist hierfür eine zwingende Voraussetzung – reicht dafür aber alleine nicht aus, denn man braucht auch spezialisierte Security-Analysten für die Auswertung der gesammelten Log-Informationen. Doch gerade beim IT-Personal macht sich der Fachkräftemangel in der Wirtschaft besonders bemerkbar.

Zudem ist es ohne Automatisierung nicht mehr möglich, die Masse an Sicherheitsmeldungen manuell auszuwerten. Der Trend geht daher zu Security Orchestration, Automation & Response (SOAR), am besten integriert in einen Managed Service. So können sich KMUs genauso gut schützen wie große Unternehmen, ohne ein eigenes SOC zu betreiben.

Schaubild indevis Managed Detection and Response

Ein SIEM kann eine Unterstützung im Kampf gegen Cyberbedrohungen sein, um bösartige Aktivitäten schnellstmöglich zu erkennen und zu stoppen, bevor sie großen Schaden anrichten. Doch die bloße Installation und Konfiguration eines SIEM reicht nicht aus. Man muss es auch kontinuierlich pflegen, Quellen anbinden und immer wieder nachjustieren. Vor allem aber benötigt man Security-Analysten, um die Informationen, die das System ausgibt, nachzuverfolgen und zu bewerten. Kaum ein mittelständisches Unternehmen hat dafür genug Fachkräfte und Expertise im eigenen Haus. Häufig dient das SIEM daher schon nach kurzer Zeit nur noch als Logspeicher. Das ist hilfreich bei einer forensischen Untersuchung, bringt aber wenig, um einen Cyberangriff zu erkennen und zu stoppen.

Ein SIEM sammelt die Logdaten angeschlossener Security Systeme, korreliert sie und sucht nach Anomalien. Entdeckt es ungewöhnliches Verhalten, gibt es eine Warnmeldung aus. Das Problem dabei: Das SIEM kann zwar Auffälligkeiten identifizieren, erkennt aber nicht, ob sie sicherheitsrelevant sind. Dadurch überflutet es Security-Mitarbeiter geradezu mit Alerts. Ein Großteil davon sind False Positives, die oft ganz harmlose Ursachen haben – etwa eine Software-Installation, die Hashwerte von Dateien ändert, oder ein Backup, das außer der Reihe läuft.

Um solche False Positives auszusortieren und tatsächliche Bedrohungen zu erkennen, müssen Security-Teams die Warnmeldungen genauer untersuchen. Weil das angesichts der Datenflut kaum jemand schafft, laufen die Alerts häufig einfach in einem Postfach auf und werden nur kurz überflogen. Dadurch bleiben allerdings auch kritische Hinweise unbemerkt.

SIEM, SOC und SOAR: Hochmodern, unabdingbar – und extrem komplex

Um das Problem der SIEM Alerts-Überflutung zu lösen, haben größeren Unternehmen meist ein SOC (Security Operations Center) eingerichtet. Hier sind spezialisierte Security-Mitarbeiter damit beschäftigt, die Warnmeldungen aus dem SIEM auszuwerten. Gibt es Hinweise darauf, dass ein Log-Event gefährlich ist? Stand ein ähnlicher Alert schon einmal im Zusammenhang mit einem Sicherheitsvorfall oder ist ein Code-Schnipsel oder eine URL schon als bösartig bekannt? Auf der Suche nach Antworten durchforsten die Level-1-Analysten die Threat-Intelligence-Datenbanken der Security Anbieter und müssen bei jeder Recherche die aktuellen Bedrohungsinformationen von Neuem abrufen. Werden Anzeichen für eine Cyberbedrohung erkannt, übernehmen die Level-2-Analysten mit tiefergehenden Untersuchungen. Sie verfolgen gemeinsam mit dem IT-Personal vor Ort die Spuren und ermitteln, ob es sich tatsächlich um einen Angriff handelt.

Die Untersuchung der Sicherheitsmeldungen ist aufwändig und erfordert Expertenwissen. Ein SOC zu betreiben ist daher ziemlich teuer. Zudem verstreicht bei der manuellen Analyse wertvolle Zeit, während der ein Cyberangriff im Ernstfall unbehindert weiter voranschreitet. Moderne SOCs setzen daher auf eine Lösung für Security Orchestration, Automation and Response (SOAR). Diese kann Mitarbeiter erheblich entlasten und Prozesse beschleunigen, indem sie Level-1-Analysen automatisiert durchführt. Ein SOAR ist in der Lage, riesige Datenmengen in wenigen Sekunden zu verarbeiten und Informationen mit den verschiedensten Threat-Intelligence-Quellen zu überprüfen. Es bereitet die Recherche-Ergebnisse so intelligent und übersichtlich auf, dass SOC-Mitarbeiter schnell ein komplettes Bild von einem Angriffsvektor erhalten.

Künstliche Intelligenz in SOAR ermöglicht effizientere Sicherheitsvorgänge

Die Automatisierung im SOAR erfolgt mithilfe sogenannter Playbooks, in denen Workflows und Logiken hinterlegt sind, die das System abarbeitet. SOC-Mitarbeiter können sowohl auf eine Vielzahl an vorgefertigten Playbooks für verschiedene Incidents zurückgreifen als auch neue definieren und mit anderen teilen. Die im SOAR integrierte KI lernt aus Incident-, Indikator- und Analystendaten, um personalisierte Einblicke zu erhalten, z.B. Incident Owner und häufig ausgeführte Sicherheitsbefehle. Die maschinellen Lernfunktionen von SOAR erhöhen somit die Produktivität der Anwender, beschleunigen die Entwicklung von Playbooks und ermöglichen schlankere Sicherheitsvorgänge. Im Laufe der Zeit wird somit immer mehr Kow-how angesammelt und die Arbeit im SOC wird effizienter. Letztlich kann ein SOAR die Alarme, die die Mitarbeiter noch überprüfen müssen, erheblich reduzieren und die Reaktion auf einen Sicherheitsvorfall deutlich beschleunigen.

Vorteile indevis Managed Detection and Response

  • Angriffserkennung in Echtzeit
  • Modernste Schutztechnologien marktführender Hersteller professionell eingesetzt
  • Auslagerung bzw. Nutzung teurer Security-Tools & Teams (SIEM, SOAR, SOC) als kosteneffektiver Service
  • KI und Machine Learning in SOAR ermöglichen schlankere und effizientere Sicherheitsvorgänge
  • Full Service durch das indevis Cyber Defense Center gemäß gewähltem Leistungsumfang
  • Anbindung verschiedener Log-Quellen
  • Anwendung von Best Practise Playbooks oder Entwicklung auf eigene Anforderungen zugeschnittener Playbooks
  • Gemeinsame Absprache der möglichen Response bei der Erkennung tatsächlicher Cyberbedrohungen
  • Service aus Deutschland heraus erbracht, deutschsprachige Ansprechpartner
  • ISO27001-zertifizierter MSSP-Geschäftsbereich

indevis MDR: Angreifern automatisiert ein Schnippchen schlagen

Die Notwendigkeit von SIEM, SOC und SOAR liegt in der heutigen Zeit immer ausgeklügelter Cyberangriffe auf der Hand. Ihr Zusammenwirken ermöglicht es, Angriffe und deren Vektoren so schnell wie möglich aufzudecken und zu stoppen. Sparen Sie sich den aufwändigen und kostenintensiven Eigenbetrieb dieser Lösungen und vergeuden Sie in Zeiten von Fachkräftemangel keine Ressourcen bei der mühseligen Suche nach den benötigten Security-Mitarbeitern. Dank Managed Detection and Response können Sie die entsprechenden Leistungen als Service von indevis beziehen. Mit indevis Managed Detection and Response geht bei der Jagd und Reaktion auf Bedrohungen keine wertvolle Zeit verloren.

indevis Managed Detection and Response

Sollten auch Sie für Ihr Unternehmen Handlungsbedarf im Bereich MDR sehen, so setzen Sie sich bitte gerne mit Ihrem Vertriebsbetreuer in Verbindung: Sprechen Sie uns an! +49 (89) 45 24 24-100.

Kontakt

indevis IT-Consulting
and Solutions GmbH

Irschenhauser Str. 10
81379 München

Telefon:
+49 (89) 45 24 24-100

Oder über unser Kontaktformular.

Sie erreichen uns von Montag bis Freitag von 8 bis 18 Uhr.